The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues Over the past year the Crust Copper Company CCC has purchased over 10 000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia Mining copper on this land will in

The writer of this letter has mentioned that the CCC has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land for the purpose of extracting copper ores from the presumably mineral rich and also a tropical nation of West Fredonia. The assumed planned actions of CCC however have concerned a few environmentally awaken citizens about the affect mining could have on the environment in and around the regions of West Fredonia.

Going by the information provided in the letter, the writer doesn’t seem to specify for what purpose the company has purchased the land. Even though the company’s major work is in the field of mining, this land could’ve been purchased for some other venture the CCC has recently shown interest in investing in. Considering companies often invest in other fields other than their major field of work for financial security, this puts the writer’s concern and the solution of people prevent buying goods from CCC unless the company abandons its mining plans in a position of questioning.

It is also not mentioned what kind of mining techniques does the CCC involve that causes harm to the environment. A concise explanation here could help both parties (The CCC and the writer) come to some sort of conclusion by understanding the negative impacts a method or methods of mining specifically might be causing to the environment, such methods could be replaced by more efficient and less harmful ways. Coming to such sort of agreement would never result in coming to a stage where people are asked to forbid from purchasing goods from the CCC.

It is possible that the mining work will be regularly monitored by government authorities concerned with sustaining the environment and the CCC has also received some sort of certification for carrying out procedures causing minimal or no harm to the environment. In such a case there is no need to be concerned and plead the public to take such brutal actions against the Crust Copper Company.

Also, even if the company’s methods are causing harm to the environment adapting such measures may not hamper the company’s decision to go ahead with the plan as the company may have the majority of their customers on an international level instead of catering to the domestic people.

In conclusion, this argument is flawed due to lack of evidences and clarity on what the actual plans of the CCC with the 10000 square miles stretch of land are. As far as the environmental concern goes, the apparent issue and the solution provided are not concise for the editor to publish this article without solid evidences. This matter would require further investigation for more insight for the article to be published in the favour of the critics of the CCC.