Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

No person who regularly or even less frequently tries to keep themselves aware of the world history and current affairs would deny the mentioned claim along with the given reason. The reason in itself is quite plausible. Several instances have been evidences to how difficult it has become in today’s world to crown a deserving person the mantle of a new generation hero. The reason being, the media.

People associated with the press or rather the common media, go to such deeper extents to extract personal information about trending personalities in order to gain more viewers. Some even spark gossips or forge information in order to gain publicity. History is evident how the media around the world have intentionally or unintentionally defamed several freedom fighters, revolutionary techies, historical geniuses and even established organisations.

Considering the case with Bill Gates and Steve Jobs, these men always strived to achieve better in the field of technology and provide the world with best of their knowledge. Although people’s obsession with them, brought them to media’s attention and their feud which was mostly personal was brought to the public’s attention causing years of mental stress and arousal of hate in the general public for both men. Political heroes such as Barack Obama was heavily criticised for his decisions he made in the oval office, which over-weighed his in-numerous positive works as the president of the USA.

Ostensible information was and is still often circulated about how Isaac Newton pirated the scientific work of other not well-known scientist from his era. Or how NASA faked the moon landing just to make the US appear ahead of the USSR in the cold war. Similarly, the Hacker group which goes by the name anonymous has been criticised several times for the unauthorised actions they have taken against the unjust governments all around the globe.

Although media scrutiny has its downsides, it provides the person in question with many supporters, people who think alike and have a similar say in a particular matter. The media may or may not display both sides of the coin of a situation, it’s always up to the person sitting on the other side of the screen to decide who to trust and who should the lend their support to.