The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter to the editor, the author assumes that the traffic jam on the Blue Highway can be reduced by the inclusion of an additional bicycle lane. While this might be true, the author needs to provide three pieces of additional evidence in order to bolster the assertion’s credibility.

First of all, the author needs to provide evidence that the only reason the motorists are lobbying for the widening of the Blue Highway is to reduce their commute time, but this might not be the case as they may be lobbying for the expansion of the Highway for some other reasons. Perhaps the motorists in this particular area are used to facing accidents on the highway on a regular basis. In addition, it is also possible that there are increased number of users of the highway. If either scenario above proves true, then the author’s argument that the motorists are lobbying for the expansion of the road due to the increased commute time does not hold water.

Moreover, the author needs to provide additional evidence on the cause of the increased traffic jam on the green highway is due to the inclusion of an additional lane and not some other reasons. It is possible that the number of residents in that area has increased thus increasing traffic on the highway. It is also possible that the regular commuters of the Green Highway go out more often. If either of these scenarios is true, then the author needs to provide additional evidence in order to improve the persuasiveness of his argument.

Finally, the author needs to provide evidence that the addition of a bicycle lane on the blue highway will be effective in the reduction of traffic jams. For example, it is possible that the majority of the users of the Blue Highway are not residents in the area and thus they are not bicyclists. It is also possible that the presumed residents may not be able to afford a bicycle. If this proves true, then the author's argument is not overly compelling.

In conclusion, the author may be correct in predicting that the inclusion of a bicycle lane on the Blue Highway will be effective in reducing traffic jams. However, as it stands now, the prediction requires three additional pieces of evidence in order to improve its validity. If the author would like to improve the validity of his conclusion, he needs to provide the three additional pieces of evidence required above.