The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper quot Throughout the country last year as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth league sports over 40 000 of these young players suffered inju

The argument presented is over conduction of athletic competition in Parkville for children under nine. The authorities have decided to discontinue the conduction after analysing the situation of children in youth-league sports which stated over fourty thousand young players suffered from injuries, faced psychological pressure from coaches and parents to win the game. Long practice hours caused a academic damage to the students.

The reasons stated to discontinue the athletic competition is full of holes and assumptions. Youth league sports was conducted across the entire country where as athletic competition is carried out in Parkville alone. There are many cases where, events conducted in large scale leads to lot of casualities as compared to small scale events. I would like to first highlight that there are no reasons provided for the injury of over fourty thousand young players. This leaves us with an open end question. There could be several factors which contributed to the injuries. One such case might be that players were not provided with sufficient precautionary accessories. Even if provided there is no evidence provided to support that all the supplied material was in good shape. There is no evidence provided to state exactly which place young players were injured. Thus, deep analysis have to be provided before drawing same conclusions.

As stated there is psychological pressure exerted by coaches as well as parents. As youth league was conducted on large scale it is not correct to draw the same conclusion for Parkville coaches and parents. There was no analysis done to specific which part of the country's parents and coaches exerted pressure on the players to win. Concerned authorities have to carry out proper survey on the area to conclude anything definite. There have to be stricter rules for such coaches, and more encouragement towards playing sports as fun activity and exercising means.

There are no evidences provided to claim the cleanliness provided. There is no analysis provided on the condition of playing ground. There is no statistics given to show the amount of medical facility present at the time of emergency. There is no statistical analysis provided to show the number of hours players have been playing. Thus, concluding their academic studies have been affected is not a fact but just another assumption. As it was conducted on large scale, they have to perform the analysis on every individual sports ground before concluding anything.

Thus, proper case study needs to be performed on various factors before drawing any parallel conclusions. Education and sports are equally vital for the overall development of the child. Thus, Concerned authorities of Parkville should conduct their own survey on all the above stated factor before deciding to discontinue with the athletic sports.