The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend — the city-run public schools — comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools — even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the letter to the editor of parson city's local newspaper claims that the parson city residents value good education in public schools more than blue city residents do. this is based on the premise that the majority of the money spent on schools in the region of Trillura comes from the city taxes and the two cities differ in budget allocation given to public education - both as a percentage of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms. however, before any serious action is taken based on the aforementioned assertion, the following three specific pieces of evidences must be evaluated.

First of all, we need ascertain the exact total income of parson city and blue city and the percentage of this income being spent on education. The author states - without proof - that there is a difference in the budged alloted to public education in these two cities. He also sates that the parson city has recently spent almost twice as much per year as blue city. however, it may be completely possible that the revenue of parson city is more than 5 times blue city and is thus able to provide more money in absolute terms. Furthermore, if the percentage of income set aside for education is less for parson city it may mean that althougth parson city spends more than blue city on education, it residents place less importance on good education. consequently, it becomes imperative to find the absolute revenue and the percentages of income allotted to education for both the cities.

Second, we need to find out the number of students in each of the two cities and money spent on education per student. parson city may be a city full of students and as a result the number of students in the blue city may be miniscule as compared to the number of students in parson city. it may be possible that blue city was spending larger amounts of money per student than parson city. Accordingly, if this were to be true, it may mean that the resideents of blue city place a larger value on good education in public schools than parson city.

last but not the least, we need chronological records of absolute and percentage wise spending on education in the last 5-10 years. The author states that the evidence is recent, it may have been outdated or it may be that the evidence is only for a very samll time frame. Maybe the study was performed when there have been recent redevelopments in schools of parson city -- perhaps because they were old and dilapidated -- which may have cause an abnormal spike in the spends on expenditure. On the other hand it may be possible that the schools in blue city are newly built and hence require less maintaince. As a consequence, if this evidence were to be true, it would indicate that although both cities place equal importance on education in public schools, it was due to abonrmalities that the evidence was misinterpreted.

In conclusion, the seemingly cogent argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on a multitude of unwaranted assumptions. if the auther of the letter is able to provide the three aforenamed evidences -- perhaps in the form of systematic research -- then it may be possible to exhaustively evaluate the viability of the assertion provided in the letter to the editor.