The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local

newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that

most students attend - the city-run public schools - comes from taxes that

each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the

budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a

proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City

has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its

public schools - even though both cities have about the same number of

residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing

a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to

evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or

strengthen the argument.

The author of the letter claims that Parson City residents value providing a good education more than residents of Blue City. To justify his claim, the author makes some unwarranted assumptions based on the comparison between the amount of the funds that each city spends on the city-run public schools. This argument lacks of concrete evidence, so it does not hold ground.

First of all, the author assumes that because Parson City spends twice than Blue City on the public schools, then the residents of Parson City place a higher value on the good education. There is no correlation between these assumptions. The funds mostly come from the taxes that are collected by each city government. Does each city government ask their residents how to spend these taxes? There is no evidence in the argument that depicts that the residents of each city decided how to spend their taxes. If Parson city’s government solely decided to spend twice as much per year as Blue City’s government. Therefore, the residents’ role in this decision is nothing and consequently, it’s uncertain that Parson City’s residents care more about a good education than Blue City’s residents. Hence, the argument will be unsound.

Moreover, the argument does not provide any evidence about the ratio of the students’ population to the total residents for each city. it’s possible that the population of children who need education in Parson City is more than Blue City, despite the equality of their total population. In this case, it would be acceptable that the amount of the funds for the education of the Parson City’s public school is more than Blue City’s, despite their attention about having a good education. Without knowing specifically about each city’s demographics, the argument cannot hold water.

Finally, the argument mentions about the city-run public schools and there is no information about other type of schools in each city. Based on only one type of school and its funds, the author should not conclude that Parson City residents place higher value on providing a good education. Perhaps, Blue City residents are wealthy and send their children to private schools which do not need government’s funds. If they care more about good and acceptable education, the author fails to provide a convincing argument. There should be precise statistics about other types of schools in each city to have a better and logical comparison.

All in all, the argument, as it stands now is flawed due to its considerable lacking of solid evidence. The author should examine some pieces of evidence, each city’s demographics and more accurate statistics to be able to provide more persuasive argument.