Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related

products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store

should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most

profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly

Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of

running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health

club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics

classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new

generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to

participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of

regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated

assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends

on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the

assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument argues that a new store, a chain of Nature’s way which sells healthy foods and products, in Plainville should be profitable. To support his claim, the author uses some unwarranted assumptions that if they are untrue, the prediction will become false as well.

The author argues that based on what Plainville’s merchants report, the number of sports clothes and shoes such as running shoes is very high all the time, and the fitness classes are full. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. It’s common among adults that at the beginning of each year, they decide to lose weight and follow a healthy diet. Consequently, they may buy the gym memberships and quit after few months. It’s natural that they and people who work at gyms, need to buy sports clothes and the rate of selling sports products increase. Additionally, it’s possible that population of other cities rather than Plainville commute to this town to buy running shoes or sports clothes. The author does not provide any accurate demographics about the number of Plainville’s citizen or the customers of sports stores. Therefore, the franchise of Nature’s way in Plainville will not necessarily be profitable.

Another line of reasoning that the author uses in his argument to support his claim is the idea that all the fitness clubs in Plainville are full. This is not equal to the fact that everyone who does exercises eat healthy foods as well. Nature’s way stores have healthy foods along with other health products. In this case, if the assumption that Plainville citizens who attending fitness classes also consume healthy foods is not true, then the Nature’s way store in Plainville would not be successful to make a profit out of selling healthy foods. Hence, the author’s argument would fall apart.

Finally, the author argues that schoolchildren in Plainville are the future generation who will buy their health requirements from Nature’s way store. He assumes that these children should participate in the fitness-for-life program which obliges them to start doing exercise from an early age. There is no guarantee that the children in their future, as adults, will stay in Plainville. Moreover, it’s possible that children do not accept eating healthy foods. Therefore, they won’t choose Nature’s way store to buy their foods or clothes, and this chain in Plainville will not be productive at all.

All in all, the argument makes a prediction about a new chain of a store which sells healthy foods and products. However, this prediction is based on some unwarranted assumptions that they may be false, so the prediction will be untrue.