The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above appears as a letter to editor describing the budgetary trend of two cities of Trillura region, in which it has been claimed that since Parson City spend a larger amount from budget on public education than Blue city thus they place more importance to education. The above argument seems valid on first glance, but a closer scrutiny presents various loopholes that doubt its reliability.

First of all, complete discussion is based on the public schools while private owned schools have been ignored. While making any comparison all the related concepts must be assessed. What if Blue City is having more of private educational ventures or contributions from alumni or other active organizations of society, then they don't need to rely upon the investment by the government. Thus, placing importance to Parson City is invalid till the time the complete educational structure is thoroughly studied.

In this regard, one can't assume that two places of the same region have equitable distribution of wealth and resources. How can one ignore the chance where Parson City lacks sufficient finances to manage their issues and depends on government allocations? Blue city might be stable and hence enable to make necessary investments on their school's quality and infrastructure. Thus, the twice spent amount by Parson City in spite of same population at both places is not an indicator of their deep interest in educational ventures.

Last but not the least, the population structure has not been considered in the above argument. What if Blue city has a larger chunk of old aged people and Parson City has more of children and adolescents. In such a case, Blue city will be tempted to invest in public places or old-age pensions instead of reimbursing their funds to the education. An absence of the demographic structure of population weakens the complete discussion.

In a nutshell it could be stated that argument needs to have additional evidences in order to get a more complete understanding of the scenario. Had the above stated facts been provided, the recommendation would have been more persuasive.