The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The letter in report delineates that "the distribution of budget for public education differs from city to city." The evidences and assumptions taken in the argument are : Firstly, public schools runs majorly on the tax that comes from that respective city, second is the evidence: that parson city spend twice as much as blue city spends, third is also an evidence regarding number of residents and lastly the assumption that, parson city gives much more importance on providing good education in public schools than blue city does. The assumptions and evidences provided seems to be logical and coherent at first glance, but giving it a second glance explores many loop holes and gaps. Neither are the premises convincing nor is the conclusion compelling.

As stated above that argument has many loop holes and gaps, the major one is : the letter here has no evidence regarding the population of children in both the city. It can be like Parson city has more number of students and Blue city would have less than it. The letter here has no description on division of population, Blue city can have more number of working people and less number of students so the city government would focus more on working people than students.

It can also be blue that student in Parson city are more interested in study rather than extra curricular activities, and students in Blue city have more interest in extra curricular activities than study.

The letter also has no description about the amount of tax revenues, it can be the case that people in Parson city pay more amount of tax and resulting in more fund with the government to spend after effectively prioritizing other issues which have greater importance respect to education. While Blue city would be having the problem regarding the fund and would have more important issues to be tackled.

The letter here has no description about the literacy rate in bot the city. The citizens of Parson city would have low literacy rate and need more funding for education and its related activities, while the Blue city have high literacy rate so they would be little less concerned with the funding regarding education.

The letter above presented has comfortably assumed a considerable amount of data. Had the writer taken the above mentioned points into consideration, it would have rendered the argument irrefutable. The points like population distribution of city, amount of tax collected and the literacy rate are needed to be added in the letter to strengthen the argument. But whatever is presented fails to provide a holistic picture to the superfluous claims being made.