The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client. “Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.”

In the above statement, it is advised by an investment firm to a client to invest in Consolidated Industries (Manufacturer of heating oil) due to typically cold temperatures and possibility of increase of demand of heating oil. The investment firm based their assumptions on two pieces of facts. While it is possible that the stated assumptions are true it is based on dubious currency and may or may not be valid. Therefore, the client needs to further address questions about its possible flaws.

The first area of deficit is that the investment firm erroneously believes that the major fuel for heating has stayed stagnant and is still being used as a possible heating element. It might be possible that due to technological advancements homes in the northeastern have adopted a different and efficient kind of fuel. If this is true, it would seriously weaken the investment firm argument.

Furthermore, the investment firm injudiciously assumes and advices the client to invest in Consolidated Industries. Even if oil is yet used as a traditional element for heating, there is no piece of evidence to cite that the heating element demand would be balanced by Consolidated Industries. The homes in northeastern United States may opt for a different company due to various reasons which includes price and availability. The investment firm needs to thoroughly research the market and cite a valid piece of evidence to support their argument.

Moreover, the Investment firm based their assumptions for increase in demand independently on the fate of weather forecasts. There is a possibility that the weather forecast may be inaccurate or the decrease in temperatures may be due to a storm present within the north eastern region. The firm needs to confirm the validity of the data as it may be flawed. It would be unlikely that the demand would increase and the client might incur a loss.

Finally, the statement supports that many new houses have been built within the region during the past year. However, there is no corroboration to demonstrate that residents are residing within the house. It may as all be possible that the company who developed the houses have been unable to sell them or maybe it’s owned by the rich elites who prefer to use in during the summer. If this is the scenario, investing in heating oil is unlikely to help and the demand may not even increase.

In conclusion, there are many aspects and questions that the Investment firm needs to address before the client can go ahead with the venture. They need to access the validity of the weather forecast to the actual demand and status of the fuel. If compelling evidence is provided the statement will immeasurably strengthen. However, if not the statement will fall apart.