The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this memo, the author recommends investment in Consolidated Industries to investors. Because he believes that the consumption of heating oil will be increased for several years. It is a plausible opinion at first glance. However, unreasonable assumptions and lack of information lead me to question the validity of this article.

First of all, the author assumes that the cold weather causes the increase in heating oil consumption in the northeastern United States. However, he does not provide critical information about the causal relationship between cold weather and heating oil consumption. For example, even though the author stated 90 days of below-average temperatures last year in this article, he does not present any data about heating oil consumption during the same period. If there was no significant change in heating oil sales last year, the author’s assumption could be wrong. To support his argument, the author should give exact sales data of heating oil last year.

Second, the author argues that the homes in the northeastern area usually use oil as their prevalent fuel for heating and assumes that the trend will be consistent for several years. However, he ignores other alternative sources of energy for heating in this memo. Nowadays, the utilization of solar power, natural gas, and electricity is increasing for heating homes. The new homes built in this region may adopt these new energy sources for heating. If so, even if the day below-average temperature will be increased, there would be no significant change in energy consumption in this area. Thus, the new homes may adopt new state-of-art technologies with high energy efficiency. In this case, the energy consumption may not change substantially. To validate his assertion, the author should provide detailed information about the heating energy sources of newly built homes in this area.

In addition, the author quotes the result of climate forecasting by Waymarsh University. However, it is impossible to predict the climate in a specific region because of technological limitations such as lack of meteorological data, the performance of prediction models, and the shortage of appropriate computational equipment. Additionally, the cold weather of last year could be an aberration compared with the long-term climate trend. The author needs to provide more convincing evidence to answer this problem.

Lastly, the author recommends investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil. To ensure his recommendation is reasonable or not, the author has to provide concrete evidence about the market share of Consolidated Industries. If there are many competitive companies in this region, even if the heating oil sales increase, the total sales of the Consolidated Industry would not change significantly. In addition, if there are more profitable investment opportunities in other industries such as an Internet technology company or a retail company that has a high market share in this area, it would be a better investment decision for investors.

In conclusion, the assertion regarding increasing demands for heating oil is invalid in many aspects, and the recommendation about the investigation is not convincing. To bolster the author's opinion, he needs to show more precise information stated in this essay.