The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that Adams rental company is superior to Fitch company since it has more branches, made higher profit last year, sold more expensive houses and currently sold the author's house sooner than he expected. A casual reading of the statement seems convincing but a careful inspection brings about several loopholes in the argument.

First, the author assumes that because Adams has more branches than Fitch and its employees work part-time jobs it is superior to Fitch. My first objection to this assumption is that what is the meaning of "superior" from the author's perspective? Is this means more branches? Or more working hours? Or even this means making higher fortunes and selling more houses. The author must clarify the meaning of 'superior" unless the assumptions may not be strong enough for comparing two companies.

Secondly, the author claims that since Adams has more branches and work more hours than Fitch, it is superior to Fitch. However, it is probable that despite its fewer branches, Fitch company has more customers than Adams. Indeed, maybe Fitch's branches are in downtown and city centers, so these branches are more crowded than Adams. Besides, less working times is not a reasonable factor for comparing two companies because maybe Fitch's workers are more productive than thoes of Adams despite the fact that they work less than Adam's workforces.

Third, the author assumes that since Adam sold expensive houses and it made higher fortune than Fitch, it is superior to Fitch. This assumption is based on vague evidence. For instance, there is no evidence about the number of houses which were sold by Fitch and Adams. It is nor implausible that Fitch sold more houses than Adams but in less prices. Therefore, the average price and profit of Adams became more than those of Fitch, but Fitch's performance was better than Adams. Indeed, there is no direct relationship between the average price of sold houses and superiority of companies.

finally, the author makes a comparison between two companies in two different years. to be more specific, the author claims that ten years ago, Fitch company sold his house after four months but this year, Adams company sold his house only after one month, therefore Adams company is preferred to Fitch company. This assumption is completely falsified because it compares performance of Fitch company in ten years ago to Adams company's performance in this year. There is o evidence that shows us how was the performance of Adams ten years ago. Maybe at that time, Adams company was able to sell houses after six months so Fitch's performance was better than Adams. Moreover, it is possible that this year Fitch company could sell author's house in less than one month.

In conclusion, this argument is based on vague and untenable assumptions which weaken its validity. To substantiate verifiability of his claim, the author should clarify the meaning of term "superior" and provide strong evidence about the number of customers and sold houses in each of the two companies . Besides, he must compare the overall performance of two companies in the same period.