The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend."Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom

In the preceding statement the author asserts that Adams Realty is much better than Fitch Realty, based on the numebr of agents, average revenue and the time needed to sell a house. The argument may seems quite tenable at first glance, however, upon careful scrutiny, it is rife with flaws and premises.

To begin with, the author claims Adams real estate company is definitely superior to Fitch becase it has 15 more agents and longer working hours. Although this may hint that Adams Realty is better, more investigation must be carried out. The number of agents is a measurement of the company, but other factors such as service quality and working efficiency must be taken into consideration, too. It is likely that Fitch provides much better services to its customers although it has less agents compared to Adams.

Additionally, building upon the implication that the average home sales for Adams was 168,000 last year, much higher than Fitch's at 144,000, the author suggests that Adams is better. However, we all know that house price is greatly affected with the location. There's possibility that Fitch focuses on rural area and city-skirts, while Adams focuses on city center to avoid competition. So it is the higher house price, rather than the number of house sold that contributed to Adams's higher income. It would be much more rational to compare the number of houses sold instead of average avenue.

Last but not least, Adams is believed to sell houses in a much shorter time than Fitch. The author asserts her house was sold by Adams in only one month, while Fitch took four months ten years ago. The assumption here is that the two houses sold were of equal quality and the market was the same too. However, it is obvious that after ten years' development, the area in which the author lives have changed greatly, perhaps becoming more attractive to house buyers. What's more, if the second house was in much better condition compared to the first one, it would undoubtly be more attractive. Thus, the author's argument based on his or her own experience is non-persuasive at all. To strengthen his or her argument, the author should calculate the average time needed for a house to be sold by each agent during the same period of time.

Due to the aforementioned evidences, although the author mentioned some factors that contribute to a better realty agent, the reasons are not deeply investigated or are full of assumptions. As a result, only with more vigorous and thorough analysis can we know which realty agents, Adams or Fitch, is better.