The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend."Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom

In the preceding argument, the manager asserts that the TV station witnessed a decrease in audiences and advertising revenues becuase of devoting more time to national news during late-night program. The argument may sounds appealing at first glance, however, upon careful scrutiny, it is rife with premises and holes.

Firstly, the manager claims that many viewers complain about less local news and weather program, so it would be beneficial to restore the time for these genres to attract more audiences. However, there's no strong evidence sopporting that many viewers switched to other channels for local news and weather forecast. So, only through a more detailed investigation on the audience's view about the new program arrangement, can we know how the suggested changes can influence the number of audiences.

Additionally, building upon the implication that many local businesses cancelled late-night advertising cooperation, the manager argues that more local news should be added back to attract these advertisers. Although less local news may affect the advertisers's choice, we do not know what is the main reason for them to cancel contracts. There are possibilies that another local TV station is offering a more affordable price to the businesses.

Last but not least, the manager believes losing local advertisers leads to a decrease in advertising revenues, which is not good for the TV station. However, it is possible that more late-night national news will attract many bigger nation-wide companies to advertise during their programs, thus promoting, instead of decreasing the advertising income as a whole.

Due to aforementioned evidences, although the manager's suggestion of restoring the time for local news and weather may be beneficial to the TV station, the arguments are not deeply investigated or are full of assumptions. As a result, only with more vigorous and thorough analysis can we know if there is a better solution to the station's situation.