The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend."Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom

It is apparent that the author of the letter believes that Adam’s Realty is superior when compared to Fitch’s Realty. The author provides logical explanations as to why he or she holds this belief. This being said, the validity of the argument posed in the letter is hindered by the many glaring assumptions used by the author. In order for this argument to be strengthened and validated, these assumptions must be clarified and proved warranted.

In theory, more workers may seem desirable. The author of the letter claims that Adam’s Realty has more workers than Fitch and this is evidence enough to serve as a reason why Adams Realty is superior. In reality, this is a assumption made by the author because there is no evidence available to prove that more workers makes the company better. The 40 workers at Adams may be less dedicated than those at Fitch. If this is the case, Fitch may be a more productive realtor. Evidence is needed on the efficiency of the workers at both companies in order for this assumption to be warranted. It cannot be warranted based on the number of employees alone.

Furthermore, the author continues on with another assumption in regard to the superiority of Adams. The author claims that Adams Realty had a revenue that was two times higher than that of Fitch last year. The author then goes on to say that the average price of homes sold was greater last year. Both of these arguments in favor of Adams are convincing, but they are based solely on assumption. The data being used was only collected from the previous year and the author does not state where this information came from. In order for the argument to be validated, the author would need to look at statistics based on empirical evidence of both companies from at least the past five years. Also, the revenue may have been higher because the prices of houses being sold by Adams was higher at average. This means that Fitch may have sold more houses, just at lower price values. If this is the case, the assumption is unwarranted because Fitch is actually selling more houses, just at lower costs.

The final argument posed by the author is particularly problematic. The author claims that from personal experience, his or her home sold faster when he or she listed it with Adams. The author claims that a different home that he or she listed with Fitch took longer. This argument is based on assumption because there is simply no context. The reader is not provided with important information such as the conditions the houses were in and the realty market at the time. Also the houses were sold nine years apart. In order for this assumption to be validated, more context is needed surrounding the conditions of the houses being sold and the market at the time of listing.

Although the author provides some convincing reasons as to why Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty, all arguments are based on assumptions. In order for the author’s arguments to be validated, the assumptions he or she makes must first be warranted by the addition of supplementary information needed to support the arguments.