The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concluded that for faster sale of a house with the high price it is better to use the Adams Realty instead of the Fitch Realty, which from my perspective the assumed premises are faulty and require further consideration for there verification. The assumption of the more numbers of the branch agency, or amount of income from the price of selling, furthermore, the duration of provided services for different houses in the two varied periods are sufficient rearing reasons for this conclusion.

First of all, the writer considers the number of existed branches for each estate firms and according to this consideration, since the Adams Realty possesses more branches in comparison of the Fitch Realty, he assumed that the Adams is superior the Fitch. This assumption flows since first of all, the term of superior is a vague term and needs lucid explanation. Does it mean the Adams gains more than Fitch? Or the presented services by Adams more satisfied the consumers? Besides, how it is possible to make a correlation among the number of branches with the order of priority? One of the missing hypothesis which makes this comparison to be shaky is the underestimation of covered service realm by each branch. There is a possibility that each branch of Fitch Firm is as huge as to cover a big area which merely two branches from the Adams firm can cover it. In this case, the presented services by 25 agents of Fitch is equal to 50 agents of Adams which is more than existed 40 agents. Therefore, by ignorance of the coverage service area, the consideration of the branches number is not a decent indicator of the Adams priority.

Secondly, the premises that Adams earns more revenue than the Fitch solely because of its sell price of the house is also skeptical. In fact, this presumption is based on one factor of selling the abode; however, these firms also have other areas of activity such as renting the houses. There is a possibility that the amount of income from the renting services will be higher the selling the houses. Furthermore, as long as there is no concrete data about the number of sold houses by these two firms, the conclusion that Adams earns twice the Fitch is not cogent one. Maybe the Fitch Realty have been sold the 100 houses during a year while Adams Realty has only covered one-third of this amount. In this scenario, the highest of 24000$ for each sold house by Adams Realty will not be sufficient to fulfill the difference of 66 unsold houses.

Finally, the comparison of the sell experiences of two different cases at two varied regions and time is not a fair way. Maybe the sold house by the Adams which took fewer times in comparison of the sold house by Fitch Realty possesses the better condition and neighborhood and located in the better region. Or It is feasible that there will be fluctuation in the supply and demand source of the houses during the last ten years and by the increment of the demands in nowadays the sold house by Adams is sold sooner. In addition, as long as there is not a specified number about the waiting period for Adams Realty's service, the result that Adams sells faster than the Fitch is incredible. Maybe the difference between the waiting duration of two services were only a few days which could be overlooked. Thus, the comparison of the two different services at various period are not concrete definer of the fastness.

The argument could be strengthened if it could consider the above-mentioned assumptions about the coverage of service area, the exact annual income of two firms; in addition, the duration of the identical services are considered for the comparison.