The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

At first glance, the argument mentioned above by the homeowner recommending Adams Realty over Fitch Realty to his friend seems to be backed by plenty of evidence. Once the reasons are analyzed, it’s not challenging to notice the flaws and lack of cogency in the homeowner’s reasoning behind his recommendation.

Initially, the homeowner argues that Adams Realty is superior because of their workforce compared to Fitch’s. Adams employs 40 real estate agents versus 25 of the alternative option. He also commends Adams for not having any part time employees. This reason by itself lacks coher...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.