The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.
"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third
of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in
a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure,
no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings
in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."
Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is
based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.
The whole argument is based on prediction that the water usage after the adjustment has reduced which might not be true. Decreasing the
maximum water flow doesn't imply that water consumption will be less. Residents of Sunnyside tower complex might have consumed the same amount of water which
was consumed before but with slower rate (because of decrease in maximum water flow). Slower rate of water flow might have been inconvenient for usage which
might cause residents to use higher volume of water than earlier. Factors such as leakage in showerheads or water consumptions other than showerhead haven't been considered.
Consumption of water in summer is more compared to other seasons. Therefore, residents might have used more water compared to last month
The number of residents is also not specified. There might be lesser number of residents before the adjustment. Increase in number of residents will result in increase of
water consumption. All these factors should be considered in predicting the reading of water usage. If there is increase in water usage Sunnyside corporation might not
be able to save the money.
The letter specifies about the only complaint is low water pressure but this might not be the only problem faced by the residents. Other issues might have not
been reported yet. They should consider a reliable feedback from every resident before concluding that the only complaint is low water pressure. If the modification is
faulty there might have been complete reduction in water flow or there might be excess water flow. These inconveniences might
lead residents to evacuate the complex. This might decrease the income and corporation will not be able to save the money. Also, the money spent for modification
is not specified. If the cost used for modification is higher than the predicted savings, there will be loss.
The letter states that similar pattern in all the other buildings will increase profit. This is based on the prediction that all the buildings are the same. The
other buildings might not have shower heads. There might be a possibility that maximum water flow in the other building's showerheads cannot be modified. Also, charges
on water might have increased due to fluctuation in economy. In this case, corporation would have to pay higher price than before.
Therefore, without considering these various factors and evidences, it cannot be concluded that there will be savings or increase in profit.