The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the letter from the Sunnyside Towers Complex owner to its manager, the owner predicts that altering showerheads to decrease water flow in all buildings of the complex will result in an increase of profits. As the basis of this prediction the author points out that 3 of the buildings has undergone such change and there was not much complaints from the residents about the reduced water pressure. His prediction and the evidence behind this, raises some question that needs to be answered in order for it to be evaluated logically.

For a start, are all buildings in the complex are in same condition and thus comparable to one another? In other words, are these buildings have same number of occupancy or water requirement in order for them to be comparable? Perhaps the three buildings the owner talks about have fewer occupants actually using the apartments than the other 9 buildings. Or this might be the case the occupants in those 3 buildings spend most of their day out of their apartments than they spends being at home. Either of these two cases will lower water consumption rate of these 3 building and significantly undermine the authors claim that the outcome of reducing water pressure will be similar for other 9 buildings.

Secondly, did the author consider seasonal variation in water consumption among the residents? Perhaps there were fewer complaints about the reduced water pressure from the residents because it was colder season when water consumption rate is typically low. The residents might not care about the trickling flow of water through their showerheads when they are only showering once a week when its freezing winter. But when it gets warmer, the consumption rate will increase and the complaints about low water pressure will keep pouring in. If the owner didn’t take into account this variation of seasonality then their prediction is significantly weakened.

Last of all, does reducing water pressure actually mean reduced water use? A resident might consume a certain amount of water for their daily use, regardless the water pressure, the only effect of reduced water pressure being increased time spent on chores. Perhaps because of the reduced water flow, the actual water consumption will increase. If that is true, then the author claiming that reducing water flow will result in a reduced water use and thus reduced water bill and increased saving fall short greatly.

In conclusion, the author’s prediction as it stands now is questionable. In order for the prediction to be evaluated logically the author needs to provide answers to the above three question and provide evidence. Only after satisfactory answer to these question we can make any prediction whether reducing water flow will contribute to a profit for the building complex or not.