The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the announcement, it is mentioned that all students should take driving lessons provided by Centerville High School and the author presents several reasons why the course in this high school is the only reliable option for the juvenile drivers in the town. While the causes shown in the letter seem to plausible, they have explicit logical fallacies.

First of all, although some accidents related to teenage drivers have been reported, the letter does not mention about the proportion of this sort of accidents in the number of whole accidents that happened around Centerville. It is possible that those young drivers have generally been prudent drivers and generated a few minor accidents. It should be also noted that the statement briefly mentions that teenage drivers have been involved. It is probable that those drivers were not the immediate causes of the accidents. Therefore, several accidents associated with the young drivers cannot be an indicator that all teenage drivers have to be enrolled in a specific course to be careful drivers.

In addition, it is doubtful that taking an obligatory program supported by a specific high school would be the only effective way to learn how to drive properly. Although the letter points out that two driving schools in Centerville cannot be an option for the households with a tight budget, it does not mean that the only alternative should be taking a course provided by the high school. Instead, it is possible to patronize the parents directly so that they can pay for the bills of the private driving lessons. It is highly probable that the aforementioned driving schools have accumulated a lot of experiences and therefore it would be better to encourage the students to take their courses by giving financial support that to force them to register for a new course recently arranged by the high school.

Moreover, even though it is admissible that high schools can provide appropriate programs, it is not necessary that only one school has to provide all the lessons. In the letter, the writer does not mention why the Centerville High School is the only option for the teenage drivers. There may be other high schools relevant to organize similar driving courses and other sorts of institutions such as culture centers fit for providing driving lessons. Thus, it is not cogent that the high school mentioned in the passage should be the only place to learn driving.

Furthermore, there is no reason that all students have to take a driving lesson. Although mandatory driving courses would be beneficial for the future drivers, it is not reasonable to state that all students would tend to start driving. In contrast, a myriad of students may not be interested in driving. Those students may prefer using public transportation and it is not desirable that all students have to be required to take driving lessons regardless of their needs and interests.

Therefore, the main argument of the letter that the Centerville high school has to solely provide mandatory driving lessons does not sound reasonable for the aforementioned reasons. There are specific logical fallacies that have to be taken into consideration before espousing the idea.