The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter to the school board in the town of Centerville, the author recommends that an efficacious and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only remedy to the serious accident problem in Centerville. The author has reached to this recommendation after observing several accidents in and around Centerville in the last two years. However, before evaluating the argument, satisfactory answers must be provided to these following three questions.

First of all, is the number of accidents those involve teenage drivers are significant? The author, without any evidence, assumes that the number of accidents which involved teenage drivers is very high. However, this may not be the case. It is very possible that the number of accidents in the past two years grew only by a very little amount. The author has not provided any specific number of accidents or comparison of number of accidents of the past two years with the previous record of accidents involved with teenager drivers. It is very possible that the number of accidents in the past was only 2 and in the last two years it rose to only 5. If this is the case, then the argument will be seriously flawed.

Secondly, is the number of parents in Centerville, who claimed to be too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, a considerable number? The author prematurely assumes that many of the parents have provided such complain. In reality, this may not be the case. It is quite possible that most of the parents are very anxious about their teenagers’ safety and they put enough time to teach their students to drive. They teach their teenagers to drive safely and very cautiously and to abide by the traffic rules properly. The teenager drivers get enough amount of training for safe driving from their parents. If this case has merit, then the argument will not hold water.

Last, but not least, don’t the two driving schools in Centerville provide some discount for the parents who are on a tight budget and can’t afford to pay for driving instruction? The author, without providing any evidence, assumes that these two driving schools are very ravenous and only focuses on making profit by charging a huge amount of money for everyone irrespective of the financial conditions of the parents. However, this may not come out as true. It is quite likely that these two driving schools provide enough amounts of discounts in their safe driving courses to the parents who are not financially so strong. They only take a nominal amount of money from them and provide their teenagers a good training. The author did not provide any evidence for this and so the argument is seriously weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is seriously flawed as it relies on unwarranted assumptions which may turn out to be invalid in further investigation. If the author is able to provide satisfactory answers to the above stated three questions and provide necessary evidence for supporting these answers, then the argument can be considered properly for evaluation. Otherwise, the argument will remain severely flawed as it remains on surface.