The following appeared in a magazine article on trends and lifestyles:

“In general, people are not as concerned as they were a decade ago about regulating their intake of red meat and

fatty cheeses. Walk into the Heart’s Delight, a store that started selling organic fruits and vegetables and whole-grain

flours in the 1960’s, and you will also find a wide selection of cheeses made with high butterfat content. Next door,

the owners of the Good Earth Café, an old vegetarian restaurant, are still making a modest living, but the owners of

the new House of Beef across the street are millionaires.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The author is stating that in general, people are nowadays not as concerned as they were a decade ago about regulating their intake of red meat and fatty cheeses. Author substantiates the claim by stating that a wide selection of cheeses made with high butterfat content can be found in a 1960's store, also the author states that owners of some old vegetarian restaurant are still making a modest living whereas the owners of a new House of Beef are millionaires. In the line of reasoning author fails to take into account various reasons and factors that might account for the above-mentioned observations. Because of these missing reasons author's claim sound dubious and unwarranted.

First of all, having a wide selection of cheese does not mean that people are actually buying the cheeses. Also, it might be the case that store serves very few people each having different requirement of type of the cheese. Hence, store has to keep a wide selection of cheeses to cater to its few customers. Also, there is no information given regarding the amount of cheese sold. Store might be keeping few grams of each wide selection of cheeses and in the end, might be selling only some kgs. Hence, the author needs to take into account the amount of cheese that is sold now compared to amount of cheese sold a decade ago. Having a wide selection of cheese does not mean that store is selling greater amount of cheese.

Secondly, the author fails to take into account the type of customers that Good Earth Cafe and House of Beef might be catering. Good Earth Cafe might be for low level income group people with each dish costing some dollars, hence owners might be making a modest living. On the other hand, House of Beef might be catering to super rich people and each dish in this restaurant might be thousands of dollars each, hence, owners are millionaires. So, the author should look into the type of customers served by two restaurants and also the number of customers that House of Beef is serving. House of Beef might be serving very few customers, but because of higher cost of each dish, owners of House of Beef are millionaires.

Third thing, the author mentions owners of the new House of Beef restaurant not the profit of House of Beef. It might be the case that owners of House of Beef are engaged in some other business adventure and that business is the reason that owners are millionaires. The author should take into account the actual customers coming to House of Beef and actual profit made my House of Beef, only then author can conclude the number of people coming to House of Beef and whether people are concerned or not about regulating their intake of red meat and fatty cheeses.

As the author fails to take into account various reasons which can be possible explanation for the above mentioned observation, the claim made by the author seems to be dubious and too rosy. For Heart's Delight store the author should look into the amount of cheese that is actually sold to come to a sound conclusion. To find the actually reason for difference between earning of Good Earth Cafe and House of Beef, author needs to take into account the type of customers and profit of House of Beef, not whether its owners are millionaires or not.