The following appeared in a magazine article on trends and lifestyles:

“In general, people are not as concerned as they were a decade ago about regulating their intake of red meat and fatty cheeses. Walk into the Heart’s Delight, a store that started selling organic fruits and vegetables and whole-grain flours in the 1960’s, and you will also find a wide selection of cheeses made with high butterfat content. Next door, the owners of the Good Earth Café, an old vegetarian restaurant, are still making a modest living, but the owners of the new House of Beef across the street are millionaires.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The author of an article, publishes in the magazine, argues that people are not as concerned as they were a decade ago about the red meat and cheeses.To support his argument the author provides as evidence the details of the store to show that the consumption of cheese has increased. Furthermore, the author adds the comparisons of an old café and the new house of beef to show that increase in consumption of red meat. Though the underlying argument certainly has merit because of lack of evidence, weak assumptions, vague language the author's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed. some of the flaws are as follows.

First, the author while stating as evidence of the details of store and the wide choice of fatty cheeses made at the store has falsely assumed that the cheese purchased at the store is entirely consumed by the purchaser. For example, if the purchased cheese by the customer is purchased in high measure because he may have a party arranged at his house or he is a supplier of cheese for a small town which is located far away from the city and has not stores selling cheese.

Second, the author while stating the evidence for increase in consumption of red meat has made wrong comparison between an old café and the new house of beef by taking into consideration the standard of the living.For example, if the owner of the good earth café is a old man and believes in keeping things simple and has not invested a lot in the infrastructure of the café but has a good customer history , customer relations and the good earth café is doing well on that factors.

Third, the author while stating that owners of the new house of beef are millionaires has wrongly assumed that they are doing well in new setup. For Instance, if the owner has set this as a secondary business and has his funds coming from the primary business. So stating the he being a millionaire is because of the new setup is entirely wrong . Therefore, the comparison of the standard of living with the consumption of red meat is at fault.

Although as written the argument is categorically unconvincing, the author could strengthen his position were he to add some proof regarding the stated evidences for the consumption of red meat and cheese, and some statistical evidence for showing that there has been increase in the quantity of consumption. if he had further clarified the limits based on the situation, then the argument's reasoning would have been much improved. however, without these changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning faulty.

In the conclusion, the author presents a interesting but flawed argument. Had the author presented some statistical proof showing the increase in consumption and the more information mentioned above, the argument would have been persuasive. As it stands however the author's argument is too weak to be true. Hence, I remain unconvinced.