The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals."In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bact

Basing on the success of UltraClean soap in one of his hospital in Worktown, the director of health minister is planning to use UltraClean soap in all of his hospital chain. The decision is based on the superficial and unreliable facts.

Firstly, the letter lacks in providing additional information regarding the reduction in number of infected patient in the Worktown hospital. The patient infection may plummet in Worktown hospital due to the fact there was more hospital in the locality where the residents can go to. There might be a case that the service provided by the hospital was not satisfactory or the cost of the services provided was too expensive because of which Worktown residents abstain themselves from going to the hospital. It will be very difficult to substantiate the claim unless the author provides necessary details and evidence.

Furthermore, the author presented us with the study which shows UltraClean soap performed better than the soaps currently used in the hospitals. But the UltraClean soap sample used in the study is in concentrated form and the author has not mentioned which form of the soap will be used in the hospitals. If it is in dilute form then it might produce the same result as the soap currently used. In that case, it would not be prudent to swap the soap currently used with UltraClean soap. This details are required to fully analyze the effect of the soap.

Finally, the author not touched upon the negative affect of using UltraClean soap. On regular use, it might cause irritation or may be inimical for the skin and eye. Additionally, it might be dangerous for the children. If that is the case, then it will inadvisable to use the soap across all the hospitals in the group. Along with that evidence, the author should also provide the evidence that there is no soap in the market which is better than UltraClean.

In conclusion, the author needs to provide answers and evidences for solidifying his claim. Unless he does that, it will be imprudent to change the soap used in the hospitals.