The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the director of student housing at Buckingham College, new dormitories should be built to cater for the increasing housing needs of students. In order to evaluate this argument properly, three evidences are needed.

First and foremost, the above argument is based on the fact that average rent for off-campus apartments have risen over the recent years. In order for this argument to hold water, evidence must be provided that the average rent increase is not just a temporary phenomenon, and that it will persist over time. Perhaps, there has been a recent surge in the emergence of industrial landmarks which has inevitably led to the increase in property value in the neighborhood. Another possible cause is the effect of the forces of demand and supply; if there is a paucity of available properties compared to a large influx of people to the neighborhood, prices are bound to go up. Due to the possibility of the above examples, there is need for specific evidence confirming the absence of such factors with respect to the average price increase of property in the neighborhood. If such evidence can not be found, then the director's argument is significantly flawed.

Secondly, there is a need for evidence that the campus dormitories are cheaper than their off-campus counterparts. In the event that the campus dormitories are cheaper at the moment, further evidence is needed that these dormitories will remain relatively cheaper over time. It is possible that the campus dormitories are in a bad shape at the moment and, as a result, do not command high prices. If significant renovations are made to put the dormitories in better shape, then it follows that there might be a significant increase in the prices compared to the off-campus dormitories. If evidence that the campus dormitories will remain relatively cheaper can not be found, then the director's argument does not hold water.

Further, the director makes an assumption that "attractive" means the same thing for all prospective students. In a bid to evaluate this argument, evidence that the meaning "attractive" is the same for all prospective students must be provided. Perhaps "attractive" carries a subjective meaning, and some students might find repulsive what other students find attractive. This could be due to varying cultures and backgrounds of the students. If the above is true, in which case evidence can not be found to the contrary, then the argument is faulty.

Conclusively, the above evidences need to be provided in order to validate the argument that new dormitories should be built at Buckingham college to cater for the increasing housing needs of students.