The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College To serve the housing needs of our students Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories Buckingham s enrollment is growing and based on current tren

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on unwarranted assumption that Buckingham's enrollment is growing and by building a number of dormitories in Buckingham College would make prospective students more likely to enroll. Taken as a whole, this unstated assumption render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these unwarranted assumption do not hold true then the argument totally falls apart.

Firstly, the author mentions that number of students enrolling in Buckingham college is increasing, so building new dormitories will be helpful for the students and also by looking at the current situation the college is thinking that the students will double in the next 50 years. The author did not mention any information regarding the college, is it new or old, and what is the reason behind increase in number of students, may be it is the first college in the town and nearby area, that is why more children have started to come. The author assumes that the number of students will double in the next 50 years, there is no past record or proof that the number of students will increase in future.

Secondly, the author mentions that the average rent for an apartment in the town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. It may be possible that some students like to live in campus only, because there are many facilities a student gets. Food is main concern, a students easily gets food in hostel, but in apartments it takes time to cook twice or thrice a day, making life more difficult, Some students don't see if the living cost high or low they just want to concentrate on their studies.

Finally, the author also states that attractive new dormitories will likely more students to enroll at Buckingham. A place should be comfortable instead of beautiful and attractive. What if new dormitories will not comfortable according to the needs of students. There is no evidence on the basis of which the author can say that students would like to live in attractive dorms. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provide little credible support to the author's conclusion in several critical respects, and raises several skeptical questions.

In conclusion, the author argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author should provide a concrete evidence. For example: the author did not mention how old is the college, any other college nearby that place.