Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment Within that group of people 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wear

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on unwarranted assumption that protective gear and reflective equipment will reduce the risk of injury. Taken as a whole, this unstated assumption render the argument highly suspect. If the mentioned assumption do not hold true, then the argument totally falls apart.

Firstly, the argument states that people who come to the hospital and go to the emergency room are more roller-skating accidents. The author mentions information of a particular hospital, we cannot assume that all hospitals have more roller-skating accidents. It is possible that the area near that hospital might be underdeveloped, and condition of the roads is not good, there might be lot of potholes which cause accidents.

Secondly, the author says that within the group of roller-skating people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing like helmets, knee pads, etc. It is possible that more number of vehicles are moving on the road as before. The author fails to mention any information about the nearby area and condition of that area. The author provides one sided information and assumes other information.

Thirdly, the author assumes that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident. It is possible that people in different areas might not wear these high-quality equipments and they are totally safe. Again, an asserted claim. Careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provide little credible support for the author's conclusion in several critical respects and raises several skeptical questions.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. Without convincing answers to some questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence. To bolster it further, the author should provide a concrete evidence by way of reliable survey.