The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of West Egg.

"Two years ago, our consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, town residents have been recycling twice as much aluminum and paper as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of material recycled should further increase, since charges for garbage pickup will double. Furthermore, over ninety percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our residents' strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

In this memo the mayor of West Egg City argues that the previous prediction about filling a place where the garbage are disposed is wrong since within two years the residents have recycled two times more paper and aluminum, and charges for garbage pickup will double. He also states that ninety percent of residents are eager to recycle in the future and this shows their commitments. The close scrutiny of these arguments reveals that the writer provides some doubtful assumptions.

First of all, recycling more paper and aluminum does not necessarily means that the in the future people recycle more. It is entirely possible that rate of construction and building new apartment in the region have been increased since the aluminum is essential material for building and windows. As for the point about paper, it is possible that these papers are from other cities which have a high rate of using paper in universities and governmental organizations.

Second, the author of this memo claims that amount of charge of garbage in the West Egg will double in the next month. The author fails to consider that the charge's increase may be related to the escalating in other factors like price of fuel of machinery which recycle the garbage and perhaps the wages of employees in the municipality. The author makes decision on an incredible data since one month cannot reflect the amount of garbage in five years. Or perhaps the recycling process for some material have risen while for others remains stable.

Finally, the writer assumes that regarding to the local survey 90 percent of resident show their commitments to the recycling in the future. Rolling out this point shows that there are numerous factors affecting this point. The author provides no categorical evidence about respondents participate in the survey. It is possible that those people were not local residents of West Egg city, and their responses convey no weight. Perhaps the study reflects some age groups who have no role in the recycling like children and young adults.

To sum up, the author provide some unsubstantiated arguments about the filling the disposal place in the city of West Egg. To bolster this argument the author should provide some solid evidence like people who participated in the local survey and their role in the city. He must also provide some evidence about the construction and other activities in the city to support his claims.