The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is stated in the memo that, due to scarcity of high quality wool fabric five years ago production of alpaca overcoat was stopped. Vice president of Sartorian Company wants to continue production as they have abandon supply of good quality fabric. Additionally, he support his argument by stating that, as we have not made alpaca overcoat for five year our major competitor no longer make these overcoats and by doing so we can gain large profit. However, before considering this advice some question must be answer.

Firstly, how many people like to wear overcoat these days? Or has fashioned of overcoat outdated in this five years? If, these day’s people are not wearing overcoat then it is blatant that company will not gain any profit. As the fashioned changed everyday people may think that wearing an overcoat is outdated fashioned if this is true then it is plausible that people will not buy overcoat. Fashion plays important parts in people’s life because it shows wither you are with time or running behind the time and no one like to run behind the time. If this happens to be true then making overcoats will lead to strong debacle and company may go into loss. By seeing this possibility advice made by vice precedent in the memo does not hold any water.

Secondly, how many people like to carry big overcoat? As, overcoat is big in size many people don’t like to carry that overcoat all around. Caring an overcoat around may restrict the movement of people because those who are in hurry may find very difficult to walk fast or run wearing an overcoat in this case people will not like to wear an overcoat. Now a day’s world is moving towards to compact things people want more compact products so they can carry everywhere easily. By seeing this mentality of people idea of continuing of making overcoat is attenuated in this generation.

Finally, why people will like to buy costly overcoat? Or why people will invest their money in such an expansive overcoat? As the price of clothing has touched a sky and it’s blatant that overcoat required more fabric than normal clothing which make it much more expansive than normal clothing and by seeing the scenario there will be few customer who will like to buy this overcoat and many people will ignore the overcoat. If this happens to be true then it’s blatant that company will not make profit and in the worst case this idea may exacerbate and company may land into huge loss.

In conclusion, the evidence provided in the memo, that supports his claim, is dubious as well as erroneous. However, if all questions are answer and more evidence is provided then it will strengthen the argument.