The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo from the Vice President of Sartorian states that they have found new fabric supplier for their earlier discontinued product of alpaca overcoat. They expect that the demand and profit would increase since there was disagreement among the customers when they discontinued the product five years ago.and also their competitor does not have a comparable product. The argument seems to be logical at first glance. However, the argument lacks credibility because the author has overlooked few vital points which are necessary for it’s logical convincing.

Firstly, the argument states that they have found a new supplier for fabric needed for the alpaca overcoat. Arguer assumes that the new supplier would provide the same high quality wool fabric that the company needed, which was difficult to find and they had to discontinue the product in the first place five years ago. The new supplier might not provide the high quality wool fabric in that case the quality of the product deteriorates. Also the sources from where the new supplier is going to get the fabric is not given. Because of this the assumption seems specious.

Secondly, the arguer assumes the people would still like to buy their alpaca overcoat based on the outcry of people five years ago when they closed the production of overcoat. It is possible that after the product was discontinued in the market, people stopped using overcoat. Over the years people could have adopted to some other type of overcoat or some other clothes. A survey should be conducted today among people would again likely to buy the Sartorian’s overcoat. This would give the right estimates on number of people interested today. Without the figures, the assumption seems futile.

Thirdly, the arguer assumes that they will make more profit than ever on the alpaca overcoats because of increase in colthing prices and the demand. The arguer has not taken into account the cost of marketing and advertising the product again into the market. It is also possible that the new supplier of fabric might charge more than the older one. This would increase their costs. Another point could be that people over the years adopted to a cheaper type of product and would not buy the overcoats at a higher price. This also could affect the profits of the company. Without the exacts costs of productions and their value in the market the assumption is dubious.

Thus, with the lack of profound analysis, supporting logics and comprehensive reasoning the argument seems to be ill - founded. However, the arugment could be strengthened if proper survey among people is conducted. Also the quality of the fabric provided by the new supplier that is used in the product is checked meticulously. Till then, the argument is wary of acceptable.