The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

There is some impediment to the argument presented in the paragraph. Some suggestions will be presented to strengthen the argument.

However, at first, it might seem plausible, after a few moments we realize that it suffers from serious logical fallacies. First, the paragraph claims that Route 101 made by Good Intention company 2 years ago is in bad condition and in contrast, Route 40 made by other company is still in good condition even though 4 years have passed since its construction. One can argue that conditions in two routes might be pretty different. As an example, routes in rainy environments, or in environments that experience highly different temperatures in a day- such as deserted areas that temperature is high at noon at very low around 2-3 AM- have more chance of being destructed after a short period of time. And routes in mild temperature environments are less vulnerable. For making this argument a strong one from this perspective we have to have exact data of environment and places these to Routes were built and compare them using those data.

The second matter is the fact that things change at a very fast rate in the modern world and economy or business state might not be as good when the route 101 was built. Material needed to construct a good quality road might not be available at that moment when the Route 101 was being built. And this is not a good reason for concluding the fact that Good Intention company builds low-quality roads. For concluding so, we need to compare roads these two companies built in the same period of time. And another thing that is not defined precisely and we need to have an exact definition of the name given to Route 40 condition.

Another thing is that the argument states that the Appian Roadways are using state of the art technology but it does not say anything about the technology Good Intention Company uses these days. for disapproving, or approving one company we need to have the same data from both companies. If we have data from one company's used technology, we have to compare it to the other company's data of the exact same type. Finally, the paragraph concludes that roads built by Appian Roadways will be in good condition 4 years after its construction. there is no evidence presented for this conclusion and the only reason might at first seem reasonable, is the fact that there is one road that remained needless of repair for four years but there is no reason that other roads built by this company are in good condition after four years.

In conclusion, there is some evidence that could be used for more investigation for choosing between two companies but none of them is plausible enough to use for decision making.