The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

If one looks at an ancient, civilized society throughout history, they would know, the greatest eras in that society are those time that general welfare of people was the best. I live in Iran with the history of 5000 years and 2000 years of civilized society. Iran's history has been thought to us since the age of 10 and I think one thing is clear in it that whenever the society's overall welfare was the greatest, the more glory the country had. one of the greatest times for Iran- culture wise, art wise and military power wise- is Safaviyeh's government. Most of Iran's greatest artworks from modern governments belong to this dynasty. And one obvious fact about this epoch is the great social welfare. the number of the poor was so little the minimum amount of wage had increased and people's hope towards making a greater life for themselves had escalated.

having more welfare means the less class difference in the country. you know that there are always some in a society that are considered the wealthy. and there are some that are considered the poor. the less the difference between these two classes, the more the country's greatness is. the reason might lay in the fact that when the class differences are high in a social order most of governments energy, time and money is consumed for filling this gap and there is no resource left to put into making the nation glorious. because the nation should first go from a low level one to a mediocre one and from there try to reach the glory it expects.

the grandeur of society is dependent on all people's part. If every member of a civilization is concerned about its development then there will form a movement that moves the nation towards its best. as a case, we can see Japan as a notable nation in this. in the Tsunami happened about 10 years ago aside from its government great management of the situation one thing that caught everybody's attention was people's participation in solving every little issue that came up. I have read that people's participation in these situations goes back to the belief that everyone in society has a responsibility to other members and there is a concept referred to as shame that is caused by not being aware of your responsibility towards other members.

and finally, greatness is achieved not by a portion of people but the nation as a whole. All the great movements in history are formed by all people from different classes. So by looking at society as a whole, we can have a more accurate picture of what the country or nation is considered as. Although scientist, governors, and artists are deputies of social welfare but having great artists or scientist does not mean a great nation.

to conclude I have to say that one or two classes of a society can not a give a good and complete picture of what is the state of the society as a whole. for having an actual image of a nation's state, we need samples of all social classes and for a country's greatness, we need all classes of society to feel great.