The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

The vice president of the company strongly recommends Appian Roadways over Good Intentions Roadway because of their respective performances in Route 40 and Route 101. His arguments favoring Appian Roadways are based on week and ambiguous claims and are not backed by compelling evidence. First of all, there is no discussion regarding the nature of both routes. The author assumes that both routes are of same nature with same traffic density. However, it could have been possible that route 101 must have been a busy road with a lot of traffic going by each day. On contrary, route 40 must have been a slow road with a fewer vehicles going over it everyday, then that would have explained the rugged condition of route 101 although it was paved two years after route 40.

Moreover, there is no mention of the weather conditions surrounding the two parts of the state where the routes are located. There could have been a possibility that a storm might have hit the part of the state where route 101 is located thereby damaging the road with geological weathering. There could also be a possibility that route 101 is located in a steep geographical topology where the land sliding must have damaged the roads excessively.

There is also no information regarding the previous contracts of both the company. There could be a strong possibility that the Good Intentions Roadways had a much better track record than Appian Roadways with this being there only failed projects. On the other hand Appian Roadways could have a bad track record with route 40 being their only successful venture. The Appian roadways have hired a new Quality Control Manger but nothing being stated in the passage about the portfolio of the Quality Manager, The Manager could have been an inexperienced individual who could not uphold to the Quality standards of Shopping Mall Construction Company.

In Conclusion, the logical soundness of the evidence is not compelling and a well informed survey regarding the profiles of both the companies is required before handing over the project to Appian Roadways.