Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational Institutes serve as the gateway of knowledge connecting young minds to intended careers and professions. Brilliant and Passionate individuals join academic institutes aspiring to be leaders in their areas of expertise and domains of interests. Therefore it becomes substantial responsibility of Educational Institutes to align the mindset of these individuals in the direction they are more likely to succeed. Therefore I must agree that sometimes Educational Institute should dissuade students from choosing fields they are less likely to succeed keeping their best interests in mind.

Every Student who comes to a graduate school is a unique individual with a specific mindset and a unique skill set. Therefore Students and Mentors serving in these educational institutes should identify these distinctive traits and guide them according to their aptitudes. The Career Counseling centers in most graduate schools are in fact tasked to do so. Most Universities have an orientation session in which they give a general overview to the freshers hoping to join them for the next term.

However many a times, studnets are recalcitrant in pursuing a specific field which does not bode well with their natural abilities. The reason for this conflict could be to follow some celebrity or an idol figure thereby ignoring ones own strength and weaknesses. Therefore it becomes vital for institutes to inform these individual what is best for them and what is not.

Educational Institute can only have the right to an opinion in deciding the profession or career stream of the student but the final decision must be of student himself. These type of critics do bring the student's morale down but there are cases in history when individuals have suceeded even with the odds being against them. Einstein for example is one of the brilliant minds of the century whose teachers used to say that he would never amount to much in his life.

In conclusion I would say Educational Institutes do have the responsibility to dissuade students from career choices that they believe are not suitable for them. However this type of criticism should only be to a certain limit as it might end up crushing students dreams and souls altogether.