The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large highly diversified company Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions The buildings were erected by different constructio

A vice president of a large and highly diversified company stated in his memo that, based on the low building's expenses for last year maintenance of Zeta rather than Alpha and Also low energy consumption of Zeta buildings every year since its construction, they have come to the conclusion that to use Zeta for their new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs. However, two questions must be answered before this recommendation can be appropriately evaluated.

First of all, are the Zeta building's expenses for maintenance lower every year? in other words, are the annual amount of needed work for the maintenance of two buildings roughly comparable? The repairs for each building may be different each year, which means the last year's low cost of the Zeta building may be because higher expenses have been done two years ago. Perhaps the maintenance needed of Zeta in the previous year was some minor checkups, and the major pairs have been done for more than one year or should have been done in about more than one year. Therefore, it is possible that in those years, the maintenance expenses for the Alpha building were much lower than Zeta's or became much lower for this year. If the above is true, the argument does not hold the water.

Secondly, are the whole situation of using these two buildings precisely similar? The energy consumption of a building is a matter of fact that highly depends on the building situation. For instance, the number of people using that building is a critical factor in measuring energy usage. The number of employees who work on the Alpha buildings may be significantly more than the counterpart building's employees. It is even possible that the energy consumption ratio got even adverse in a similar situation in the number of employees in both buildings. Another critical factor in the energy consumption of a building is where the building is located. Therefore, there is a possibility that the Zeta building is situated in a place much colder or hotter than Alpha's location. As a result, the Zeta building in summer needs more energy for cooling systems and more for warming systems in winter. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is weakened.

To wrap it up, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. Suppose the author can answer the two questions mentioned above and offer more evidence (perhaps in a systematic research study). In that case, it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to use Zeta rather than Alpha for the new building project.