The following appeared in a memorandum from the general manager of KNOW radio station.

Several factors indicate that radio station KNOW should shift its programming from rock and roll music to a continuous news format. Consider, for example, the number of older people in our listening area has increased dramatically, while the total number of our listeners has recently declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of recorded music. Finally, continuous news in neighboring cities have been very successful, and survey taken just before the recent election shows that local citizens are interested in becoming better informed about politics.

The general manager of the KNOW radio station has recommended a memorandum which indicates several factors that the KNOW radio station should shift to the news programme instead of the rock and roll music. For fortifying this view the manager has given a suitable several reasons and factors for its approval. The various reasons which he/she shows is that the number of the older people in that city is increasing and the number of the listeners to their radio stations are continuously decreasing. The memorandum also shows the survey taken just before the recent election that people are more interested in the better knowing about the political. But this all assumptions has many flaws in taking a consideration that radio station should change his programme from rock and roll music to the news.

The first reason which undermines the managers claim is that he/she takes the result of the survey which was taken just before the recent election. But, when was the recent election? Was it a week ago ? Or before few months. It is very much necessary to have the extra details of when the election was and what survey did it conduct? And even if the survey claim that the people are more interested in the becoming better informed about politics. It is obvious because it was just before the election and hence people has a high buzz about political news and high eagerness to know its detail. But after elections the situations may be different. There is no proof that still people are eager to know the news on politics. Hence it is not right to make a claim without knowing the current situations.

The second claim the manager makes is that number of people in the area has increased. It is not always necessary that the older people only prefers news no where the memorandum shows any proof that the older people prefers news instead of the rock and roll music. The number of people in the area has increased but the manager fails to mention how many? What percentage of the listeners are the older people and how many new old listeners were added.

The other point that the manager assumes that the number of record sales of music in the area has decreased. Does this mean people has stop listening music. It may be the case that the number of record of the rock and roll music has increased. No where does this point is taken into consideration. Further more, the people who buy music record are not the same who listen them and hence this seriously undermines the managers claim.

In sum, taking all this cases into consideration it is very much necessary for the manager to have certain full proof surveys that bolster the claim for change in the program such as the percentage of the number of the old people, decrease in number of the overall listeners of the radio station and the people’s intent towards rock and roll music. Without certain fortified surveys it shows that the manager’s claim is full of flaw.