The following appeared as a memorandum from the vice-president of the Dolci candy company: “Given the success of our premium and most expensive line of chocolate candies in a recent taste test and the consequent increase in sales, we should shift our business focus to producing additional lines of premium candy rather than our lower-priced, ordinary candies. When the current economic boom ends and consumers can no longer buy major luxury items, such as cars, they will still want to indulge in small luxuries, such as expensive candies.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The argument claims that the Dolci candy company should decrease producing lower-priced candy in order to sell more expensive line of chocolate candies because consumers will always want to buy expensive candies, even though they do not have much money. This conclusion, based solely on one assumption, is doubtful, as it does not provide any clear information. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First of all, the vice-president assumes that, if economic boom ends, people will still buy expensive candies of the Dolci company, but it is illogical. If recession starts in economy, people will refuse buying anything what they do not really need in order to save money. All their purchases will be defined by biological needs and a wish to eat candies will be changed to the cheapest candies, but not to expensive.

Secondly, the author fails to mention that there is a correlation between increasing in sales and economic boom. However, there is no clear information about the demand on this type of products, thus it is possible to say that this growth in sales maybe influence by seasons factors such as holidays.

Finally, the argument could have been much clearer if it provided the information of any research not only about the demand on luxury candies, but also about a market share of the Dolci candy company, because lower-priced candies can people also popular among people. This type of product can help the company to stay afloat in the situation of the crisis.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. To strengthen the memorandum the author should have to provide more evidence. Without this information, the argument unsubstantiated and open to debate.