The following appeared in a memorandum written by the assistant manager of a store that sells gourmet food items from various countries:

“A local wine store made an interesting discovery last month: it sold more French than Italian wine on days when it played recordings of French accordion music, but it sold more Italian than French wine on days when Italian songs were played. Therefore, I recommend that we put food specialties from one particular country on sale for a week at a time and play only music from that country while the sale is going on. By this means we will increase our profits in the same way that the wine store did, and we will be able to predict more precisely what items we should stock at any given time.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The author of the argument claims that the profit of the food store can be increased if the store put one specialties from one particular country on sale and the store will play music of that country. To support his argument, the author presents the evidence of last month finding that a local wine store sold more French wine when French music was played than Italian wine, and the case is exactly opposite when Italian music was played. Though the underlying argument has merits, because of weak assumption, lack of evidence and vague language the author's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed. Some the flaws are as followed.

To begin with, the author claims sales of the food store can be increased if the store play music of particular nation on sale for a week, and it will increase its profit. The author cites the finding of local wine store, as the store sales more wind of particular country when music of that country was played. However, author does not provide any evidence that the same method will also be applicable to their store.

Secondly, author assumes that what applies to local wine store will also be applicable to the gourmet food sale store. The author fails to provide any evidence how these two genre are linked together. Usually in wine store people prefer to listen to music. But, this is not necessarily be the same for the food store. People my visit the food store for some relax time without any noise or music.

The argument, as written, is unconvincing because of weak reasoning; however had the author present the data sales of a store mainly driven by music and not by any other factors, the argument could have been strengthened. If the author can show some statistical data that both the food store and wind store share the same sort of customer, the argument will be more effective to convince. Otherwise, the argument remains less persuasive.

The author present an interesting argument, but deeply flawed. The argument can be made stronger, had the author present the data as mentioned above. Otherwise the argument has no legs to stand.