The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors:

"Tech corporation is our pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company, For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Tech corporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Tech corporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now."

The author of the argument concludes that the investors should invest in Techcorporation. The author gives the reasons that it is the first company which has been approved by the FTA , in 10 years. Also according to a survey, eighty percent of the consumers were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider. He further goes to state that this new venture of Techcorporation would be profitable for those who invest now. The argument at first looks convincing, but when we study deeply we encounter a number of loopholes.

The first loophole is that the author has just stated that Techcorporation is their top pick. But he has not listed the companies among which Techcorporation is their number one pick. Also the reasons as to why the other companies fail. He should provide a detailed report of the comparison between Techcorporation and othe companies.

The second loophole is that he has told that first time in 10 years a company who developed satellite technology has been approved by FTA to compete with current satellite provider. This means that the current satellite provider has been in this competitive market for 10 years or more and if it has managed to survive 10 years, it would be good. Just because the FTA has approved doesnt mean investing in it would be profitable. The author has not given any evidence as to What tests has the techcorporation passed? Who conducted the tests?

The third loophole is that the author mentions a consumer survey was conducted and has stated that eighty percent of the respondents were dissatisfied. But the author has provided given details on How many people were part of the survey? What age group did the respondents belong to? What were the questions asked to them? Answers to all these questions is necessary for concluding the probity of the results. If the survey is conducted among 10 people, it will not represent the whole population.

Another loophole of the argument is that the author states that the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be profitable. On what basis has he reached this conclusion? Since Techcorporation are new in this field, Will they be able to compete with thw current satellite television provider, who are in this field from past 10 years? Will the customers be able to trust and switch to another provider?

The argument would be strengthened if the above questions have been answered and the author provides a more in depth report on the analysis of the new company Techcorporation. Also detailed results of the survey which was conducted which will further enhance his argument. As it stands, however the argument is flawed.