An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that the government of Tagus nation should promote the new type of millet to combat vitamin A deficiency is flawed. In the argument, the author not only draws conclusion based on the assumption that the new type of millet is high in vitamin A but also people would adapt to this new variety as millet is their staple food. Furthermore, the author makes the mistake of not providing proper evidence for the international development organisation engineering this new breed of millet.

To begin, the conclusion is based largely on the perception that the new variety of millet is high in vitamin A. The author has nowhere proof of it. On what basis has it been proved that the new variety is high on vitamin A? Where were these tests conducted? What were the results? Were all results positive that it is rich in vitamin A? If answers to these questions were provided then the argument would be of some logic.

To add to it, the author assumes that people of Tagus nation would adapt to this new variety since it is their staple food. But if this new variety is costly would common people be able to buy it? Won't they resort to some other source of vitamin A instead? Since the seeds cost more the farmers would have second thoughts on whether should plant them or no. Even if government is planning on giving farmers subsidies will the farmers make use of these subsidies for millet farming? What if they use it for farming some other crop? If people are not able to buy this new variety of millet then there is not point in promoting it.

Also,the author has not given enough evidence about the basis on which has the international development organisation engineered this new variety of millet. Why has it only given this new variety of millet as the possible solution? Why have they not considered other crops which might also be rich in vitamin A as the solution to the deficiency of vitamin A in Tagus nation? If sufficient proof as to why this organisation have suggested this millet, it would lead to more awareness among people and it would help government in promoting it further.

The argument would be strengthened if the government would have taken a survey of people and asked for their opinion whether they be happy with accepting this new variety of millet in their diet.Not only this, the government should also conduct a poll among farmers whether they will be able to farm this new variety. After this survey is conducted the results should be given as evidence.As it stands the argument is flawed for the reasons indicated.