The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

The author represents an argument for an advertising firm and comparing their profit margins with the success rate of the firm . He supports the evidence with the an average of 6 sleeping hours of their executives and wants to hire people those who sleeps only 6 hours. However , due to unsupportive evidence , the argument is not conclusive until the following concerns get clarified.

First of all , The author considering the sleeping hours of only 300 executives as a supportive evidence , but the author failed to include number of males and females out of those 300 which might also cause difference in their resting hours based on thier gender .

secondly , there is no proper evidence that the executives are working in a particular timing , so the work hours might be different among them . the executive working in the shift A (6 AM - 12PM) might have some rest during their working hours compared to the executives working on sift B ( 12PM - 7 PM ).

Thirdly, The author taken only night sleeping hours of the executives , but he failed to mention the resting hours during the day time which can also be factor as an executive taking at least 2 hours of rest in day time might not require more then 6 hours of rest during nights.

To sum up , based on the false assumptions and improper evidence , the author's reasoning does not provide concrete evidence to support this argument . and also it is not a proper assumption to hire people only who sleep less then 6 hours will take company to higher margins and business growth.