The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

While the argument put forth in the article may have a legitimate recommendation to businesses to hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep, it is due to the lack of solid data and evidence along with glaring assumptions, which make the argument difficult to evaluate. Without knowledge of the particular demographics of the people who were studied -their age groups or their prevailing health conditions along with their quality of sleep, the author's argument has little weight. Also, the lack of the quantifiable factors which were used to compare the growths of the different advertising firm further makes the argument difficult to substantiate. The conclusion put forth relies on assumptions which are rather weak, unconvincing and have several flaws which make the argument weak.

Firstly, without any reference to the demographics of the advertising executives who were a part of the study, we cannot come to any conclusion. For example, if the group which were being studied comprised mainly of young men and women who were healthy, then the argument is flawed as it highly possible that the same recommendation could prove harmful to executives who were older. Another omission in the recommendation is the lack of data regarding the health condition of the participants of the study. Perhaps, it is possible that the participants whose businesses performed well had a majority of healthy individuals who did not face issues with six hours of sleep. This may not be the case for another organization with a different demographic composition and may lead to severe consequences in the long run. It is because of this lack of data in the argument, which makes it difficult to make any conclusions.

Furthermore, there is no reference to the long-term impact of getting less than six hours of sleep for the participants of the group. Had there been evidence which proved that there were no ill effects to the participants of the study who slept less than six hours, we could have some ground to evaluate the judgement. There is a huge probability that the participants who slept less than six hours each night would face severe health issues in the long run and therefore, the firm employing these people could suffer huge losses. As a result of no such study, concluding the above is incorrect.

Additionally, we cannot infer from the statement that the firms which had higher profits were essentially due to the employees used to sleeping less than six hours. This is again faulty reasoning, there may have been additional important factors which dictated the success and higher profit margins of the companies such as their strategy, market share, capital which could have played a huge role. Without knowing the strategy of the companies or their inherent capital, we cannot incorrectly infer about the proposed argument. Hence, the author's argument is again flawed

In conclusion, though the author may be correct in his argument to hire only those people who slept less than six hours each night, it is because of the aforementioned reasons and the vagueness inherent in the argument that we cannot make any kind of conclusion. It would be easier to make a conclusion about the author's argument had the argument included the data which is vital to understanding the study. Hence, without such solid data, we are forced to assume that the author's argument is more of a wishful thinking than substantive evidence and fails to deliver.