The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While the author may have a legitimate reservation for the risks involved in manned space flight, the argument placed forth has a lack of solid data and consists of assumptions, which make the argument difficult to evaluate. The argument also fails to mention the reasons which make manned space flight costly and dangerous and at the same time, there has been no comparison on the effectiveness between manned and unmanned space flight. This lack of underlying information and solid data, along with assumptions which are rather weak, unconvincing and have several flaws in them, bring about a demand for a closer, more detailed examination.

The author has mentioned that manned space flight is costly without mentioning the underlying reasons as to why this is the case. Perhaps manned space flights have a wider set of objectives to be fulfilled in contrast to unmanned space flights and hence there is an accompanying rise in the expenses involved. The rise in costs could also have been due to the training of the astronauts involved in the space flight and hence the reasons for the high costs of training should be examined and hence corrective measure must be taken. Without the inclusion of such vital facts, the author's argument does not hold much weight.

Additionally, the author has also claimed that manned space flight is dangerous, but there has been no statistics provided to give us a context of the danger involved in such operations. Without statistics involving a comparison between the failures of manned space flights and unmanned space flights, it is unreasonable to attack manned space flights. At the same time, there has been no inclusion of data regarding the probability of such risks involved. For example, if the probability of a failure in a manned operation is 1 percent, while the probability of the failure in an unmanned mission is 10%, we can definitely overlook this difference. Hence, in the absence of concrete figures regarding such data, the authors' argument is difficult to substantiate.

Moreover, while there has been a mention of the successes of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites, there has been no such inclusion of similar statistics for manned space flight. If the author had the data which proved the repeated failures of manned space flights over the last couple of years, the author's argument could hold true and hence necessary action could be taken. As it pointed out by the author regarding the successes of the unmanned space flights, it is highly plausible that the manned space flights have also been highly successful concurrently and there is only a higher degree of risk and costs involved. The author could have strengthened his stance by including factual data regarding the probability of failures or an actual instance of a failed manned space flight and its consequences. This again has been omitted by the author and hence fails to deliver.

Though the author does mention investing in unmanned space flight due to its supposedly low risks and low costs, he has failed to mention the advantages or disadvantages of investing in manned space flights. It is highly probable that investing in unmanned space flight shall not reap great positive results as it is already at its peak and further investing shall lead to diminishing returns and instead invest in manned space flight with agenda to reduce costs by finding out the inadequacies and plugging those costs could actually pose benefit. Again, this is omitted by the author.

In conclusion, the author could have a legitimate concern about the risks involved with manned space flight, but without providing us with solid information and figures regarding the probabilities and risks, there is little to ruminate upon. Also, the lack of supporting evidence of actual disasters or such failures puts us under the impression that the claim is just more of a wishful thinking than substantive evidence and therefore, fails to deliver.