The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine."A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep t

The assumption made is that businesses only prosper having employees that sleep less than 6 hours per night. This assumption should be better analyzed for some reasons.

Firstly, the study in which this conclusion is based might be not very accurate to be used in order to make this assumption. It might be reckless to generalize to the whole business environment a study based only in 300 people. A fallacious perspective might be created since there is a small quantity of people analyzed in the research.

Secondly, the assumption might be based in a research made only with firms that are already successful. In this sense, it would be not possible to evaluate whether a small amount of sleep between executives of a firm affect or not the success of the company. Perhaps the company has already reached success and after it the executives needed more time of work and less hours sleeping to deal with the pressures of the job. In this sense, the company didn’t became successful because employees restricted their sleep time and the conclusion made might be fallacious.

Thirdly, the research is based only in one business segment. In this context, it would be dangerous to generalize it to other businesses fields. In the advertising business it executives and other employees might have different habits and demeanors that might be disparate from other sorts of business. In this sense, it might exist business fields where employees have more than 6 hours of sleep and at the same time their firms still gain a lot of profits.

Thus, one can see that it’s necessary to be cautious with the conclusion that less hours of sleep means more profits in business. The conclusion based in the research might be reinforced by reviewing aspects such as: whether the quantity of people in the research is proper to achieve this conclusion or not; how successful were the firms when the research started with their executives; the consequence to the research the fact that it bases the conclusion stated in a study that involves only firms from the advertising segment.