The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine."A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep t

According to the authors of the article published in the business magazine, the Mentian prosper executives on whom they have studied draw that they have slept less than 6 hours per night which is the major reason for their success that they’ve achieved. However, the conclusion made by the authors might hold the water, it rests upon several unfounded assumptions that if not substantiated might dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

The conclusion drawn by the authors is based on the study undertook by that encompasses only 300 Mentian executives. But the question arises- Is it the satisfactory number of workers that they have studied upon to make such an argument?. It is Universally accepted that sleeping is the humane way to refresh the mind. The author didn’t touch the area where the people who are successful sleep more than 6 hours. Because for many people, sleep is the factor that gives the peace of mind to begin the day with a fresh sense. Thus, if this acumen of thought is true, then the assertion made by the authors that less sleep tends to ascend them to the apogee of the profit margin is significantly hampered.

Prosperity of the business can be mapped with many factors. The author of the section published in the magazine can be questioned that if they have considered other factors as well. The hard work by the employees, punctuality that they have, robustness of the product they produce and so on have the greater possibility of affecting the success and the profit rate of the business. More over, the business rate is highly dependent on market values of the product as well. For instance the company which has the executives who sleep well can come up with the better acumen can take their company to the summit of success. In this case the author should be interested in conducting study over other characteristics of the employee (executives) in order to bring the credibility to their argument.

Many companies like Google, Amazon which are known as the leading business corporations in the world inculcate the habit of sanctioning the sleep hours for their employee. The work place even consists of the sleeping areas as well for the employees. Despite of this “sleep affairs” these companies are unprecedented by any other companies in their market value as well as profit rate. Hence author of the given particular passage has to consider these examples as well before coming on to the point of more sleep affecting the success rate in an ill manner.

In a nutshell, while the author of the may have come to a second conclusion regarding the increase in success rate of the business giving the credits to only the Mentian executives who sleep less than 6 hours if more data is needed before a firm conclusion is reached. If the author rethinks the question if it is the sufficient number of executives to research on? Or if sleep is the only attribute of the executives to contribute to the success of the business and also think and consider about the higher success rate of the companies where they do not practice what author implicates via his/her study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.