The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that businesses should only hire people that need less than 6 hours of sleep may seem logical at first. Despite making some good points, the argument is based on numerous unwarranted assumptions that weaken the author’s argument.

The author assumes that if businesses hire people who need less than six hours of sleep, they will have “higher profit margins and faster growth.” The author fails to provide evidence that sleep and success are related. Although the author cites a study, perhaps success was due to higher education and better ideas from the executive. Furthermore, success can also come from a better support team from co-workers. While the executive is sleeping, the rest of the staff might be picking up the slack. Had the author provided better proof to why he made this assumption, his argument might have been strengthened.

The author also leaves some unanswered questions that weaken his case. For example, are all the firms studied, equal? If the firms differ, this might explain the higher profits and growth. The author should provide details of the study in order to strengthen his argument.

Furthermore, the author claims that if a business wants to prosper, they must hire only people that need less than six hours of sleep. The studies, however, were performed on executives in firms. The author should cite a study that included all business and different types of employees, other than just executives, this information could strengthen or weaken the argument.

With so many unwarranted assumptions the author fails to make a convincing case. If the author were to confirm his assumptions the argument would be more persuasive.