The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that in order to run a successful business companies should hire employees who need less than 6 hour of sleep per night. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious.

First, the author contends that a recent study on 300 male and female executives shows that there is a correlation between sleep hours and firms' success. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is possibility that this study has not been reliable. As a matter of fact, this recent study just show the result of 300 people with different sex and indeed, every human being has its own specific character. In fact, there might be majorities of executives who use to sleep more than 6 hours while they are leading successful business even more than those 300 people. It is also important to say that maybe their success in business is because of extreme efforts and their own skills. In fact, being talent or skilled play a key role in running and keeping a successful business.

The author also attributes that those companies that their executives need less than 6 hours sleep had higher income and rapid growth. However, it might seems tenable at face, it has some detects. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that profit and success of any firms depend on variety of items such as economic situation, qualities of products and so forth. Actually, the profit and growth might be due to the higher quality of firms' products that can lead to vast majorities of consumers and finally a hoard of money. Alongside that, maybe recover from economic recession provide an opportunity for firms to have higher profit and improvement.

Finally, as set forth but the author in order to run a successful business companies should hire those people who need less than 6 hours of sleep. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to the fact that many people sleep less than 6 hours but they are not talent and smart enough to patronize firms lead a prosper business. Another point that should not go unnoticed is that perhaps people take a nap while they are working because they sleep less than 6 hours and scientists have suggested that every human being need at least 8 hours of sleep.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that the author has ignored the number of assumption that presence of which could strengthen the author claim.