Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that use of dairy products could resulted in bone fractures so-called osteoporosis. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

To commence with, the author contends that vitamin D and calcium in dairy products are two of utmost important vitamin in order to prevent bone diseases. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since, there is no sufficient evidence to support if osteoporosis could be treat just by vitamin D and calcium. One point that should be considered is that every disease could have variety reasons and in order to cure them many thing is needed such as medicine, relaxation and so forth. Indeed, although vitamin D and calcium play an important role in bone fractures disease, they are not the only way to cure this disease. As a matter of fact, the author does not show to the extent people cure themselves by these vitamins. It is also important to say that these vitamins only protect bones for a short while and do not have a long lasting effect.

The author also highlights that environmental and genetic problems lead to this disease and increase vigorously with age. Although it might seems tenable at face, it has some defects. Due to the paucity of evidence that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that there are not any records by scholars to show that environment and genetic play a key role in osteoporosis. Indeed, many people nowadays are leading a sedentary lifestyle without any activity or doing exercise. So, this situation could enhance the likelihood of bone fractures rather than genetic or environment owing to the fact that with doing exercise and sport we could stay healthy. Alongside that, the author does not mention which age among people face this disease. In fact, bone fractures is a prevailing issue among elders that is not too odd.

Finally, as set forth by the author according to a long term study of myriads of people who use dairy products regularly in their meals, bone fractures increase among these people rather than other who do not use consistently. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an insufficient evidence to support if people in this study had same age. One point that should not go unnoticed is that the author does not mention any information about age and maybe people who have participated in this research had been too old and suffered from this disease. In such case, the result could not be reliable and accurate.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.