The following appeared as part of a business plan developed by the manager of the Rialto Movie

Theater.

"Despite its downtown location, the Rialto Movie Theater, a local institution for five decades, must make big changes or close its doors forever. It should follow the example of the new Apex Theater in the mall outside of town. When the Apex opened last year, it featured a video arcade, plush carpeting and seats, and a state-of-the-art sound system. Furthermore, in a recent survey, over 85 percent of respondents reported that the high price of newly released movies prevents them from going to the movies more than five times per year. Thus, if the Rialto intends to hold on to its share of a decreasing pool of moviegoers, it must offer the same features as Apex."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author in the recommendation stated above supports the view that the Rialto Movie Theatre must perform radical reforms, or terminate its operation. In order to explain his opinion, the author bases his arguments on the assumption that given that the Rialto Movie theatre does not possesses contemporary equipment like Apex Theatre does, then it will not succeed to attract moviegoers, whose number is constantly declining. However, the author needs to answer several vital questions in order to change his arguments from the current ambiguous form to a clear one.

First of all, the author maintains that the survey conducted indicates that the main reason people do not choose to go to the movies is the high ticket prices. Therefore, he must answer the question why lowering the ticket prices only is not a smart and profitable move. Based solely on the survey, the prime goal for a movie theatre in order to become successful is to lower the price of its tickets. Moreover, buying a modern equipment is very expensive but according to the survey cannot guarantee profit. So the real question is if one can ensure that making those reforms could cover the expenses and help the theatre earn extra money in order to become profitable.

Secondly, the details and the contents of the survey that occurred are very equivocal. To be more precise, I believe that the author needs to include more details about the survey, by answering the question, where this survey took place and where did those people live. For instance, given that Rialto Movie is located downtown, if the survey occurred outside the city, or the people did not live in the town, thus, they have never visited the Rialto Movie Theatre, then one cannot draw so radical conclusions about actions that must be taken, because their opinion is biased.

Finally, the text does not answer the question, whether a local business like Rialto Theatre can withstand all those changes and if competing a business like Apex Theatre this way is the best choice possible. To be more precise, the budget available of a small business is substantially smaller than the budget of a big company, therefore, investing a lot of money in order to make a small company more appealing is might not be the best choice. Thus, the real question is how can a local institution compete a big organization like Apex Theatre?

In conclusion, there are many vital questions that need to be answered in order to evaluate the author's arguments as valid. As long as suggesting bad decisions and not detailed surveys still holds, the argument cannot be classified as persuasive.