If rituals did not exist, we would have to invent them. We need ceremonies and rituals to help define ourselves socially and culturally.

Nowadays, in every contemporary society religion plays a crucial role in its proper function. Various religious processes come in a ceremonial form. There are many people that highlight the importance of ceremonies and rituals as a necessary piece in the puzzle of a person in order to evolve socially and cultural, whereas other support the view that those various ceremonial forms could easily be neglected without important consequences. I believe, that rituals and ceremonies are crucial and define a person for several reasons.

First of all, rituals and ceremonies such as weddings, funerals, etc cover a broad spectrum of human emotions such as happiness and sadness, helping someone to cope with difficult situations or even share his happiness. To be more precise, every person throughout his life experiences different types of emotions, by interacting with other people. Ceremonies, bringing people together can fortify those bonds experienced between people strengthening their relationship. For example, a great body of research has shown that people dealing with difficult situation can overcome this obstacle when they are around other people, thus, ceremonies like funerals definitely help people.

Secondly, rituals and ceremonies represents procedures that people with same interests and beliefs come together interacting with each other. As a result, one can socialize by forming bonds of friendship with other people easier while attending ceremonies, rather than staying home or without them. To be more precise, one is more likely to be comfortable to converse while surrounded by people with common views as him, than by a fortuitous interaction with someone on the street. For instance, many people are socially awkward around other people primarily because they are scared of being criticized about others or maybe humiliated for their views. This is not the case in ceremonies where everyone share closely related views with another. Thus, rituals and ceremonies can dramatically influence the aspects of a person's social life.

Finally, rituals can represent the beliefs of our ancestors around specific topics , thus, their performance has a historic value. More specifically, of a historic aspect, the existence of many rituals with the specific way of dressing or dancing of people in a society, can give someone a glimpse of the past. Many rituals have maintained their initial form of performance for hundreds of years, therefore, ceasing their existence means to abandon the values and beliefs of our predecessors. In additions, if those ceremonies did not exist in the first place, then we would lose a big piece of our past.

In conclusion, from my point of view, rituals and ceremonies represent values of people necessary for them to keep their life. Thus, their appearance and maintenance would have been unavoidable.